The Winner:

This year’s prestigious Nordic Council Music Prize goes to the Finnish musician and star clarinetist Kari Kriikku.

Kari Kriikku enjoys major international recognition and is known as a brilliant exponent and ambassador of modern music.

The prize committee write in their justification:

”Kari Kriikku is an extraordinary virtuoso on his instrument the clarinet. His performance is characterised by flexibility and a positive musician’s joy – he is a musician in the best sense of the word. In his genre he is a pioneering innovator of the solo concert form which has led to partnerships with most of the important contemporary composers, whose works he has then performed for the first time. As a chamber musician he has also explored other contemporary music forms apart from classical music".

Kari Kriikku has recorded a considerable number of CDs which span a wide range from C.M. von Weber to Kimmo Hakola and Magnus Lindberg also digressing in the direction of popular music. His stage talent further strengthens the picture of a striking and mature artist.


The Nominées:


  • Thunderstrucks
  • Alpha


  • Pekka Kuusisto & The Luomu Players
  • Kari Kriikku

Faroe Islands

  • Orka


  • Voces Thules
  • Víkingur Heiðar Ólafsson


  • Arve Henriksen
  • Paal Nilssen-Love


  • Ale Möller Band
  • Loney Dear


  • Ulvens Döttrar